I know that as math nerds we're more familiar with our voyager 2000's than our fellow man, but what about that square root of 2 pretty irrational huh? Crazy Pythagoreans, all keepin' it a secret n stuff.

Views: 20

Replies to This Discussion

So what's your guys connection to maths?

Like me e.g. - I studied it, (but did not finish, so I have no MA...), and I'm a maths teacher (secondary school).
Maths nerds from all corners of the globe (or solar system, or universe in general?) unite!

What's your excuse for calling yourself a Math nerd?

Cheers,
Aleks
I was a math major until last year when I took time off to have a baby and earn some money. I plan to go back.

I have been an algebra and pre-algebra homeschooling cooperative teacher. Spent 2 years tutoring at my college and 1 term tutoring students from a failing school district. I also spent a year tutoring hispanic students through a program at my college. I plan to be a teacher when I finish.

I have an AS in mathematics and am a senior in college. I am very interested in number theory, number history, mathematical art and astronomy (kind of mathematical, definately nerdy).

Anywhoo...That's why I call myself a math nerd.
okay, you're excuse is a lot better than mine ;-)

Just kidding.

Wow, that sounds great! I just started teaching... and those bloody summer courses really crack me up... take sooo long to put together all those tests and even longer to type them, and not to talk about correcting them! Had 4 exams today, but already corrected them, so it should get better.

I first started teaching last Semester. So now - school starts in two weeks - it's going to be my first (whole school-)year to teach (again).

And honestly: I don't see myself being a teacher in about 5 years time. By then, I should be working on my Doctorate in Psychology (hopefully in the field of Differential Psychology, Statistics, Diagnostics, Methods or a good mix), and then stay at the uni...