Today's news paper carried a picture of ISRO chairman Madhavan Nair going for a "pooja" in a temple before the launch of Chandrayaan-1. Whatever little science I know has made me see how big a fraud religion is. But here we have a rocket scientist, who is far more knowledgeable in science, "praying" for the success of a mission. What hope is there for India when its brightest refuse to think rationally?

Views: 27

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Lije. This is exactly the kind of thing that puzzles me as well. It is odd (and disturbing) that some self-taught people can see through the BS while some highly educated academics cannot. I think the current consensus is that the brains of believers and non-believers have fundamentally different qualities in regard to some types of emotion and thought. Madhavan Nair is a good example; another one is Francis Collins, leader of the human genome project.
One of my fellow writers has written about the issue of smart and educated people who believe in irrational ideology here: http://nirmukta.com/2008/09/15/smart-and-superstitious/
I think it has got to do with our society's attitude towards authority. Hinduism has all these "-devobhavas" for teachers and parents where authority figures are elevated to the status of gods and questioning their views is regarded as taboo. Children are indoctrinated from an early age to believe that the ancient texts are the ultimate in authority and are above questioning. That is why we have this bigotry. In my opinion the Indian civilization is biggest success story of browbeating the general populace into mindlessly accepting authority. It's a process which has started over 4000 years ago and is still running quite successfully. In contrast the European civilization has started to question religious authority in the 1500s and maybe that is why most scientists in the west are either agnostics or atheists.