Hi, I'm Andrew.

I'm a 3rd year PhD student.

My project concerns artificial reefs: particularly the marine life associated with offshore oil and gas platforms in the North Sea.

I'm also investigating food webs around a small artificial reef system, in comparison with those around a nearby natural reef.

Obviously there are other areas of biology that I find fascinating.

I have a blog, on which I try to write articles about biology, amongst my rants and ravings about religion.

Views: 26

Replies to This Discussion

I'm a college student, major = physics.
I find biology extremely interesting. Hope to take as many classes on the topic as I can, if physics doesn't work out for me, I'm sure there will always be plenty of areas of work for Biologists.
Hi Jason,

Opportunities in biology........depends very much on your area of interest. I think at the moment there some some demand for graduates from physics, chemistry and mathematics to move into biology and bring some of their skills with them, at least in the UK. Me, I always wanted to go into biology, but I may have backed myself into a corner where there are somewhat fewer opportunities.
Hi, I'm Laurie and I'm a biologist (why do I feel like I'm at an AA meeting? - sans the religious implications, of course).

I have a bachelors in fisheries biology and a masters in aquatic ecology as well as an MBA, which I never use and wish I hadn't wasted my time and huge amounts of money with.

I work for the state of California, which means I also don't really use my other degrees, either.

I've read and enjoyed Andrew's blog for a while, so go and check it out!
The money's in the post.

Of course, I'm not the only one with an enjoyable blog!
I'm Samu*.

I'm just a college student who is majoring in biology. I love pretty much all of biology, so I don't know what I want to specialize in. I definitely want to do research out in the field, but other than that I am at a complete loss about what I want to do.