Helter Skelter (1976), directed by Tom Gries

(Note: This has been cross-posted in Atheist Cinema and All Things Chthonic.)

I can remember when this came out. I was just 6 or 7 at the time, and I can remember that although I didn’t know what it was about, I knew it was supposed to be scary, and I was indeed scared, especially of the women who shaved their heads. I can recall how shocking that was considered.

However, it was not until last week that I finally saw the movie, in spite of the fact that I have read and studied a fair amount about serial killers and mass murder.

So was it a good movie? Well, I think an important criteria for judging films is to take under consideration their place in time. Of course, a film can have a timeless quality to it, to be sure. But movies are always a product of their time, and they are heavily influenced by cultural mores, current events, technological advances or limitations, audience expectation, and the like.

As I am not an expert on 70’s cinema, I am hesitant to quantify Helter Skelter’s cinematic worth. It is not a terrible film but, but it is in many ways rather unremarkable. It is shot partially as a drama, and partially as a narrated documentary.

By far the very best part of the film was the acting. Steve Railsback, who played Manson, and the women who played members of the Manson Family were absolutely fantastic: very convincing and frightening. They were somewhat crazy, passive-aggressive, spaced out, hostile, and self-absorbed. You could have easily believed they were not acting.

The director also had the sense to exclude many of the main players from the screen. There were so many people in involved in this real-life drama, that it would have been impossible (and confusing) to try and introduce, follow, or explore them all. He sensibly concentrated only on a few of the main family members.