Is it me, or can most people on social networking sites not spell? I get acronyms, but actual misspelling, really? I'm not that old, either-not even thirty.

Does this make anyone else crazy or is it just me?

Views: 830

Replies to This Discussion

I'm a real stickler for proper punctuation, spelling, capitalization, etc.  That's after 2 years of typing class in high school and just finishing 8 years of university work!  Whether I'm chatting, typing in a forum, or an email, I follow the 'rules' and proof read everything  lol

So, yes, misspellings do make me crazy.  Also, when people don't know when to use its or it's; and there, their, or they're.  The acronyms annoy me, too, although I am guilty of using LOL  or lol  :P  

The problem creeps into students school work.  I'm a librarian in a university research library and have logged hours and hours on the reference desk.  I am asked reference questions, but am also asked about how to properly cite books and articles.  I cringe when I look at many of the students papers.  So totally off the appropriate format, lousy spelling, and punctuation.  I have to quickly walk away or I will sit down and edit their paper.

Ha! What drives me batshit crazy is when you see signs-professional signs, mind you, with apostrophes when none are needed. "Hot water heater", "over exaggerate", and others just about kill me.

I'm a real stickler, too, though for different reasons. I was raised in deep west Texas, but speak like a news anchor because I was raised by an aunt who cared about how I would be perceived when I grew up.

Aren't apostrophes supposed to signal, "Beware of oncoming 's'"? :-)

Wish there was a "like" button! :-)