Just got here! I would love to hear why/how some of you converted to Atheism.

This is my first post here, and as a recent convert from Christianity (try not to faint from shock) I would quite enjoy hearing some interesting stories of enlightenment. Personally I became frustrated with the inaction of my sky god, and decided to figure out why in the nine hells i was worshiping such a jerk. I objectively re-read the Bible, and was shocked how awful the god of the old-testament "was", coupled with how I could have possibly overlooked this in the past. Since I have a college library at my disposal i began reading other religious texts, it became a sort of hobby. After reading the Koran, the book of Mormon, and prying my forehead from my palm, I stumbled onto The Selfish Gene by my new hero Richard Dawkins. Since I am a student of science, the transition was easy, and took far too long. 

Not a terribly riveting tale of conversion, but it was a fun journey nonetheless. I'm glad to see a whole community of like-minded individuals, Ohio is hardly a hotbed for Atheism these days.

Views: 94

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hey Adam, welcome!
I have a similiar story - relatively new athiest (18 months now) and very late to the game (I am 49). I'm also from a midwestern state (Missouri now, but from western Michigan orginally).

Perhaps it was a midlife crisis thing for me, but I developed and odd need for truth. I just decided that I needed to start thinking for myself and to really try to study and understand things. I never really understood that term "thinking for oneself" before. Now I do.

The examination of my views started with religion, which fell really quickly (the God Delusion, Letter to a Christian Nation and Julia Sweeney's "Letting Go of God"). My political views were actually much more difficult to shed. I have since concluded that I had come by my politics the same way I had come to my religion - the need for conformity.