I'm Getting Bashed on a Writers Website for Coming Out Atheist

I'm on this writers site and recently posted a piece about Atheism. It was my way of coming out, saying hey I am who I am, I accept you for you and you should accept me for me. Well it turns out they're not. They can write a bunch of bad poetry about God but I can't write an essay on Atheism. They're leaving me bad comments and telling me to leave because of the content of my essay and not the quality of my writing, and they're all standing behind their comments, telling me I'm a bad writer and a bad person for writing about something I knew was going to get people angry. Oh well sorry if the fact that I exist gets people angry. What can I say to defend myself? I want to go to the site admin but I don't know if that would do anything. I have a right to declare my lack of faith and not be harassed for it right?

Views: 10

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

You know, a bunch of people that think of themselves as artists should be among the last people to pitch a fit about something being inappropriate. What kind of crappy artist says "Dear god, you can't write that! You might offend someone!" Isn't the entire point to make people think?
I imagine your well written and controversial post is doing a far better job of forcing people to think than all the God poems combined.

If they think being willing to only write things that make your reader feel good about themselves is the total of being a good writer, they've got it as back-asswards as they possibly could.
So you've challenged their comfort zones and made them realize things exist outside their narrow worldview.
You know, what actual good writers do.

You could just tell them "Art: Yr doin it rong."
Wow do I know where you're coming from!