Hi all! I'm new here, this is my first post.

So, a problem I've been dealing with is that fairly often I find myself unable to stop thinking about how I can't understand how so many people around me are religious. It's very distracting and bothersome. I'm a medical student and I had some apparently naive idea that people in medicine would tend to be the rational type. Not true. My school is full of very nice but extremely religious people, and I simply can't fathom how they do it. How can you study evidence-based medicine one minute, then the next minute gather with your friends and hold hands as you pray that you all got a good grade on the exam? I'm like, hello, the Assessment Office has already known what your grade was for the last week. It's not gonna change now. 

My roommate is also very religious. She's a wonderful person, but having her around can get me into these private mental rants... Thankfully she does not really ever say anything and is not pushy, but when she goes off to bible study every week and literally spends all of Sunday at Church, I'm like, what's wrong with you? 

I'm seriously thinking about getting some counseling to help me deal with this. But then I'm afraid that my therapist would be religious too! Argh! Help me! 

Views: 280

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Welcome to the sane place Diane.

We have the same thoughts about experienced, intelligent, mature types as well, so you're not alone. You'll find lots of support & good reading here too, so that may help you out some.

Nice to meet you!

It's possible that you need counseling in the same way that children of alcoholics need counseling.  The problem is that I know of no such formal programs, though there are probably many people who could use it. You could try Googling "secular counseling" and see what you come up with.