im new to atheism and i had a few questions about general beliefs

how did we get here?

why are we here?

how do we know what's true and what is not?

Why is there good/evil?

how do we overcome evil?

how do we become happy?

what happens when we die?

thanks guys

Tags: atheism, beliefs, questions

Views: 973

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

#1  Evolution

#2  Why is anything on this great planet

#3  You use better judgement with reasoning and mix it up with a heap of physical evidence and wala!

#4  There is no such thing as good and evil.  They are made up words.

#5  Evil?  What is evil?

#6  Do things that make you happy and live your life for you before death.

#7  Your body is either burned or burried.  As your body degrades it feeds micro organisms that feed plants that in turn feed animals.  Your energy passes to other living things.  Of course you aren't aware of it though.

This is just my way of thinking

how did we get here?  Evolution.

why are we here?  No reason.

how do we know what's true and what is not?  Science.

Why is there good/evil?  Pass for now.

how do we overcome evil? Pass for now.

how do we become happy?  Pass for now.

what happens when we die?  Nothing.

how did we get here?- Your ancestors left Africa about 60,000 years and entered the Americas about 10,000 years ago. You are probably related to recent European invaders who's ancestors entered Europe about 40,000 years ago and possibly related to Neanderthals who died out in Europe about 30,000 years ago.

why are we here?- There is no reason we are here. We are related to all other life on the Earth and evolved from the first flat-footed bipedal primate which lived in Africa about 6, 000,000 years ago. Bipedalism freed our predecessors hands which enabled them to become skilful and adept.

how do we know what's true and what is not? - By way of free rational thought.