One thing I get tired of, and I'm sure you folks go through this too, is being at work everyday not being able to go a whole day without somebody bringing up God or his will.

Just recently somebody broke into a coworkers house while his kids were home and luckily the guy didn't go into the closet where the kids were hiding. Of course, the whole day I had to hear that is wasn't luck it was God that kept him from finding them.

Views: 62

Replies to This Discussion

I have to deal with this crap EVERY.........DAMN......DAY!!!! I work in healthcare (RN) Need I say more?
I usually just say, "No, I don't think so." When someone says, "It was god's will."
I hate that as well. When a tornado wipes away your neighbor's house and not yours, kills your neighbors but not you, that is god's will?? I think not.
My question to the people who say that is "what makes you so special that you should have been saved instead of your neighbor?"
And I'll bet they have a ready answer that involves large portions of self-rightousness.
Their answer is always "God works in mysterious ways" or "Nobody knows the mind of God." Which is another way to say "Hell if I know but I don't want to admit it was just blind luck."
The replies to that I always heard was, "God's not finished with me yet," "I have His work left to do here on earth," or "God called them home" i.e., they were finished with "His" work or they were being rewarded. I no longer challenge the religious about any of their beliefs because their beliefs are irrational and persistent in the face of all rational arguments. For me it's a waste of time and energy. I do go on the offensive whenever they seek to put in place policies etc., which adversely impact me.
I'd like to add that although I'm far from the south, many people at my workplace are pretty well as deluded with their relious beliefs. The main difference I notice is that in the south it is so much more acceptable to bring the religious talk up in any and all settings.