Is there a correlation between mental health and atheism?

I'm a psychology teacher with a keen interest in both mental health and atheism and I think I have spotted a link between the 2. Of the atheists I chat to regularly, a significant number of them have mental health issues and I believe there is a negative correlation. I would like to know if a) the same applies to you; and/or b) if you are aware of any studies that have investigated this link.

So far I have not unearthed any and the study being conducted by Sam Harris is looking at a positive correlation. I am considering a study of my own but it is most definitely just an idea at the moment. I would appreciate candid responses, but recognise it's not necessarily a subject people want to talk about.

I have my own theory as to why this link occurs, but I will keep it to myself for now. Many thanks to those who feel they want to and can respond.

Tags: Crtitcal, Health, Personal, analysis, responsibility

Views: 987

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Well, it has been proven somewhere that religious people feel happier, same applies to people with a positive view on life.

Personally, I can't stand that extreme happy-go-round attitude. It would drain me completely out of energy. I have found all those people to be VERY energic. Am I the only one who have made the same connection there? (All people I have met who are believers and have a positive outlook at life all are very energic to the point where I have huge issues to even slightly keep up in their tempo. My grandma is one of those people.)

Also, I think you must define the term "mental health issues" better. Do you speak of a higher risk of getting a depression or just feeling more down in general? Or do you mean psychotic disorders such as psychosis? Or personality disorders such as narcissism?

I would like to read more about the topic, maybe you could mail it to me at leatelamon@hotmail.com?